Dave's Endorsements

Momentum continues to build in my campaign for Washington State Lands Commissioner. As I travel the state, I have been overwhelmed at the support and encouragement I have received. I’ve spent the last 15 years working in every corner of the state to get big things done at the state level-- shutting down our state’s coal plant, creating the Puget Sound Partnership, getting pollution out of the Spokane River. Voters are clearly looking for an experienced environmental champion with a proven track record of results.
Sierra Club
Washington Conservation Voters
Humane Washington (pro-animal)
WA State Council of Firefighters
WA Federation of State Employees
WA Education Association
WA State Labor Council
Unite HERE local 8 (hotel workers)
Joint Council of Teamsters
Service Employees International Union (SEIU) 1199nw
WA Refuse & Recycling Association
WA State Realtors
Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Union
NW Marine Trade Association
Victory Fund
Seattle Times - “Dave Upthegrove is the best choice for this position because of his strong public-service record, environmental credentials and proven ability to represent diverse interests...Upthegrove stands above the pack of contenders."
Spokesman Review Newspaper- “Upthegrove has a reputation for bringing diverse parties together to solve tough issues....We like Upthegrove's combination of conservation achievement and legislative experience."
Seattleish Blog - "We are going to go with Upthegrove...a visible conservation leader.”
Geov Parrish at Geov.org - " "Dave Upthegrove, in Olympia and on county council, has the chops to run a state department, [and] the priorities to get it right.."
Democratic Party:
King County Young Democrats
Pierce County Democrats
Spokane County Democrats
Kittitas County Democrats
Skagit County Democrats
Kitsap County Democrats
King County Legislative Districts 1,5,11,29,33,34,36,37,39,41,44,46,47
Snohomish County Legislative Districts 1, 38
Pierce County Legislative District 27
Elected Officials:
Former Governor Chris Gregoire
WA Insurance Commissioner Mike Kriedler
King County Executive Dow Constantine
Pierce County Executive Pat McCarthy
US Congressman Adam Smith
Senate Democratic Leader Sharon Nelson (Vashon)
Senator John McCoy (Tulalip)
Senator Christine Rolfes (Poulsbo)
Senator Andy Billig (Spokane)
Senator Jamie Pedersen (Seattle)
Senator Karen Keiser (Des Moines)
Senator Marko Liias (Mukilteo)
Senator Steve Conway (Tacoma)
Senator Jeannie Darneille (Tacoma)
House Majority Leader Pat Sullivan (Covington)
Representative Joe Fitzgibbon (Burien)
Representative Kevin Van de Wege (Sequim)
Representative Steve Tharinger (Sequim)
Representative Sam Hunt (Olympia)
Representative Zack Hudgins (Tukwila)
Representative Derek Stanford (Bothell)
Representative Marcus Riccelli (Spokane)
Representative Noel Frame (Seattle)
Representative Gael Tarleton (Seattle)
Representative Eric Pettigrew (Seattle)
Representative Laurie Jinkins (Tacoma)
Representative Brady Walkinshaw (Seattle)
Representative Ruth Kagi (Seattle)
Representative Mia Gregerson (SeaTac)
Representative Tina Orwall (Des Moines)
Representative Mike Sells (Everett)
Representative Larry Springer (Kirkland)
Representative Christine Kilduff (University Place)
Representative Joan McBride (Kirkland)
Representative Eileen Cody (Seattle)
Representative Roger Goodman (Kirkland)
Representative Steve Kirby (Tacoma)
King County Councilmember Joe McDermott
King County Councilmember Claudia Balducci
King County Councilmember Larry Gossett
King County Councilmember Jeannie Kohl-Welles
Snohomish County Councilmember Brian Sullivan
Whatcom County Councilmember Carl Weimer
Thurston County Assessor Steve Drew
Bellevue Mayor John Stokes
Kent Mayor Suzette Cooke
Renton Mayor Denis Law
Auburn Mayor Nancy Backus
Lacey Mayor Andy Ryder
Tacoma Deputy Mayor Ryan Mello
Renton City Council President Ed Prince
Tacoma City Councilmember Anders Ibsen
Tacoma City Councilmember Robert Thoms
Bellingham City Councilmember Roxanne Murphy
Bainbridge Island City Councilmember Michael Scott
Mercer Island City Councilmember Benson Wong
Port Townsend City Councilmember David J. Faber
Bonney Lake City Councilmember Justin Evans
Renton City Councilmember Ruth Perez
Des Moines Councilmember Dave Kaplan
Des Moines Councilmember Melissa Musser
Kent City Councilmember Dana Ralph
Kent City Councilmember Dennis Higgins
Kent City Councilmember Brenda Fincher
Tumwater City Councilwoman Nicole Hill
King County Sheriff John Urqhart
North Highline Fire District Commissioner
Dominic Barrera Tacoma School Board Member (And former Tacoma Mayor) Karen Vialle
Highline School Board Member Joe Van
Former Snohomish County Executive John Lovick
Former Senator Kathleen Drew
Former Senator Ken Jacobsen
Former Pierce County Councilmember Tim Farrell
Former Representative and Lands Commissioner Candidate Mike Cooper
Former Representative Deb Eddy
Former Representative Marcie Maxwell
Former King County Councilmember Julia Patterson
Former Pend Oreille County Commissioner Diane Wear
Steve Robinson, tribal affairs and environmental consultant
Chris Stearns, tribal attorney
Many more citizens, activists and community leaders....update coming soon!!

Who's endorsing

Bill Breedlove
deepak bansal
Tiffany McGuyer
Gerry O'Keefe
Janice Van Cleve
Vic Pennington
Katie Nelson
Jennifer Minich
Michael Charles

9 endorsements

Will you endorse?

  • Bill Breedlove
    endorsed 2016-07-31 14:32:11 -0700
    I am the incoming elected Democratic PCO for Hood Canal, Precinct 229.
  • deepak bansal
    endorsed 2016-07-26 11:08:44 -0700
  • Tiffany McGuyer
    endorsed 2016-07-20 10:42:01 -0700
  • Gerry O'Keefe
    endorsed 2016-07-19 23:37:43 -0700
  • Janice Van Cleve
    endorsed 2016-07-01 12:46:01 -0700
  • Vic Pennington
    endorsed 2016-06-18 23:44:22 -0700
  • Katie Nelson
    endorsed 2016-05-18 20:59:26 -0700
    Please fill out our “campaign Services” application:


    Our general membership meetings are the 4th Monday of each month (next Monday) please stop by and say Hi. You get about 5 min. We do not do endorsements until after the primary.
  • Jennifer Minich
    endorsed 2016-04-29 21:44:33 -0700
  • Michael Charles
    endorsed 2016-04-29 16:44:44 -0700